McCormick Corporation Logo
April 24, 2017 at 2:00 PM EDT

McCormick Announces 77th Annual Unsung Heroes Awards Banquet

Former Baltimore Raven and 13-time Pro Bowler Ray Lewis to address student athletes

SPARKS, Md., April 24, 2017 /PRNewswire/ -- McCormick & Company, Incorporated (NYSE: MKC), a global leader in flavor, today announced that Ray Lewis will deliver the keynote address at the 77th Annual McCormick Unsung Heroes Awards Banquet to be held on Monday May 1, 2017.

Mr. Lewis is a former Baltimore Ravens linebacker who is widely considered to be one of the most dominant defensive players in the history of the NFL.  A two-time NFL Defensive Player of the Year and a 13-time Pro Bowl selection, Mr. Lewis is also the only player in NFL history with at least 40 career sacks and over 30 interceptions.  He led the Ravens to victory in Super Bowl XXXV in 2001 and in Super Bowl XLVII in 2012, where he played his last NFL game.

The Unsung Heroes Banquet honors deserving student athletes. A total of 111 high school seniors from 69 Baltimore area public, private, parochial and independent schools have been nominated.  For the first time in Unsung Heroes history, the nominations are open to all high school sports. Two of the honorees—one male and one female—will receive the 2017 Charles Perry McCormick Scholarship, valued at $40,000 over four academic years.  Four additional scholarships have also been added this year.  Two $7,500 scholarships and two 5,000 scholarships will be awarded to students for their efforts on and off the field.

The Unsung Heroes program recognizes unselfish student athletes and honors those who substantially contribute to the success of their school without receiving acclaim.  Originally established in 1940 by former McCormick & Company Chairman Charles P. McCormick Sr., the program is reflective of McCormick & Company's core belief in The Power of People.

More than 700 city and county officials, school administrators, coaches, honorees and guests are expected to attend this year's event.

The 2017 Unsung Heroes Award Honorees

Archbishop Curley High School

Cross Country – Matthew Scheffel

Archbishop Spalding High School 

Tennis – Caroline Wagner Football – Andrew Ladd

Baltimore City College High School 

Basketball – Janay Fenner Football – Melvin Scott III

Baltimore Polytechnic Institute

Football – Marquise O'Neal II

Benjamin Franklin High School

Football – Dameone Suggs

Bluford Drew Jemison STEM Academy

Football – Jeremy Seaton

The Boys' Latin School of Maryland

Football – Dajuan Felder

The Bryn Mawr School

Volleyball – Rebekah Robinson

Calvert Hall College High School

Football – Cairo Haynes

Carver Vo-Tech High School

Football – Daron Alston

The Catholic High School of Baltimore

Basketball – Teresa Walz

Catonsville High School

Basketball – Amber Lally Football – Devin Dunlap

Chesapeake High School 

Basketball – Armoni Baker Football – Koron Nelson

Concordia Preparatory School

Basketball – Tae Forte

Digital Harbor High School

Swimming – Saquoia Wall Track & Field – Carlos Davis

Dulaney High School

Basketball – Leah Mexis Soccer – Sean Herrin

Dundalk High School

Volleyball – Shkuar Porter Football – Chrys Lane

Eastern Technical High School

Softball – Jodie Bronushas Football – Matthew Sodeman

Edmondson-Westside High School 

Basketball – Dominique Tate Football – Davon Brown

Franklin High School

Basketball – Amaya Booze Football – Chase Maul

Friends School of Baltimore

Field Hockey – Erin Farrugia Soccer – William Mortimer

Friendship Academy of Eng. & Technology

Basketball – Talia Shields Football – Qaidetreus Walker

George Washington Carver Ctr. for Arts & Tech.

Basketball – Tobi Jackson Soccer – Tyler Strohman

Gilman School 

Football – Zachary Jones

Hereford High School

Soccer – Mumtaz Faridi Football – Joseph Kelbaugh

Institute of Notre Dame

Volleyball – Tyler DuBose

The John Carroll School

Field Hockey – Emily Stancliff Football – Nick Rosaschi

Kenwood High School

Basketball – Prynsess Brazzle Football – Daquan Wheeler

Knowledge and Success Academy 

Basketball – Brandon Matthews

Lake Clifton High School

Football – Jermaine Branch

Lansdowne High School 

Basketball – Jaqueline Ocompo-Flores Football – Andrew Tayman

Loch Raven High School

Volleyball – Madison Williams Football – Johan Milele

Loyola Blakefield

Football – Kevin Chesebrough

Maryvale Preparatory School

Softball – Lucy Yezulinas

McDonogh School

Basketball – Morgan Jacobs Soccer – Oliver Abramson

Mergenthaler Vo-Tech High School

Basketball – Destiny Lacy Basketball – Jamil Coleman

Milford Mill Academy 

Basketball – Caitlin King Football – Onyinyechi Ebere

Mount de Sales Academy

Cross County – Kelly Szalankiewicz

Mount Saint Joseph High School

Football – Christopher Hailey

National Academy Foundation

Baseball – Steven Anderson III

New Era Academy 

Volleyball – Nakiya Forney-Brice Football – Albert Johnson

New Town High School

Tennis – Rebecca Olusola Football – Cameron Hill

Northwestern High School

Basketball – Krishauna Davenport Football – David Medlin, Jr.

Notre Dame Preparatory School

Basketball – Kate Behlen

Oldfields School

Field Hockey – Lily Farquharson

Our Lady of Mount Carmel

Soccer – Camille Wills Basketball – Christian Evans

Overlea High School 

Soccer – Lauren Dewberry Football – Delmonte Ward

Owings Mills High School

Soccer – Amara Foster Baseball – Antonio Prater

Parkville High School

Soccer – Erin Lane Football – Kyran Brandon

Patapsco High School & Center for the Arts

Soccer – Hayle Kyte Football – Andrew Thompson

Patterson High School

Basketball – Justist Rice Football – Leonard Fields, Jr.

Paul Laurence Dunbar High School

Volleyball – Shavona Bryant Football – Logan Cary

Perry Hall High School

Basketball – Madison Townsley Football – Zach Hart

Pikesville High School

Lacrosse – Emily Glossinger Football – Marcus Burgess

Randallstown High School

Track & Field – Jessica Roney Football – Marcus Newton      

Reginald F. Lewis School of Business & Law

Basketball – Allana Snead Football – Dariun Miller

Roland Park Country School

Basketball – Elizabeth Schlerf

Seton Keough High School

Swimming – Erin Solloway

Severn School

Basketball – Tess Bradshaw Football – Andrew Medile

Southwestern High School

Basketball – Sonia Smith Basketball – Donyea Baldwin

Sparrows Point High School

Soccer – Hannah Auvil Wrestling – Ethan Hoenig

St. Mary's High School

Field Hockey – Mia Suplee Football – Mason Burtnick

St. Paul's School

Lacrosse – Robert Barroll

St. Paul's School for Girls

Basketball – Nira Headen

St. Timothy's School 

Soccer – Jessica Berman

Towson High School 

Basketball – Kathryn Krimm Cross Country – Jack Morgan

Western High School

Basketball – Jadia Jackson

Western School of Technology & Env. Science

Basketball – Kikiola Akanbi Football – Joshua Smith

Woodlawn High School 

Soccer – Laura Martinez Ramos Soccer – Garen Palmer


About McCormick & Company

McCormick & Company, Incorporated is a global leader in flavor. With $4.4 billion in annual sales, the company manufactures, markets and distributes spices, seasoning mixes, condiments and other flavorful products to the entire food industry – retail outlets, food manufacturers and foodservice businesses.  Every day, no matter where or what you eat, you can enjoy food flavored by McCormick. McCormick Brings Passion to Flavor™.

For more information, visit

For information contact:

Corporate Communications
Lori Robinson (410) 527-6004 or

To view the original version on PR Newswire, visit:

SOURCE McCormick & Company, Incorporated